Shira Choi – The Road Less Taken

Great post from Serve Illinois!

Serve Illinois Commission

In September 2013, I made probably the greatest transition in my life by moving to Chicago from California to join Illinois Public Health Association (IPHA) AmeriCorps. I had recently graduated from Occidental College with a bachelor’s degree in chemistry and, instead of going into medical school as I had planned, I shifted gears and pursued a volunteering experience in order to learn about public health, medicine, the meaning of service, and what these very things meant to me personally.

Even before this service year, I was a firm believer in the idea of community service and volunteering as it is one of the few chances that we get in our busy lives to take a look around us and see the needs of others before ours. As an undergraduate, my most meaningful experience in service had been working as a classroom mentor and college counselor in several low-income Los Angeles…

View original post 653 more words

Leave a Reply

